Chris McGlinchey takes Silver at the 2017 Irish National Road Championships

25th June 2017

An amazing weekend for Vitus rider Chris McGlinchey as he stepped up to race with the Pro’s for the 2017 Irish National Championships, and rode away with Silver.  The Chain Reaction Cycles team rider and employee, yes, Chris works full time from the CRC Belfast office, finished 2nd, the only amateur rider inside the top 7.


Chris started his Chain Reaction Cycles sponsorship as a team downhill racer and got into road riding to support his training. Incredibly it was only 2015 entered his 1st road race and switched his ambition from dirt to tarmac in 2016.



The race unfolded over 9 laps of a total 178km race around Wexford. With two laps to go it was a downhill section where Chris made his break and took the lead, only to be caught on the final lap by pro Ryan Mullen. The two worked together but it was Ryan who then opened a gap to Chris on the final climb, with Chris just 23 seconds behind and the finish, then Conor Dunne in 3rd a further 29 seconds back.


Chris commented… “I am still buzzing! Coming into the race I was confident I had the form to contest for a medal if I played my cards right and it was surreal to be able to pull it off. To finish ahead of some of the names that I did was an amazing personal achievement. Congratulations to Mullen and Dunne also, they rode a great race and it was amazing to give them a run for their money! ”

Chris was riding his stock Vitus Vitesse Evo Team, upgraded with Prime RP-50 Carbon Tubular wheels, Continental Competition tyres & an SRM FSA power meter.


Racers don’t usually post Strava info, but Chris is happy to keep it real and share his day.

If you’re wondering why Chris’s distance is less than the official race distance, don’t be concerned, the first 10km is a neutralised to keep everyone together.

Result: Elite & U23 Men’s Road Race

1 Mullen,Ryan Cannondale Drapac 4h00’04”
2 McGlinchey,Christopher Chain Reaction Cycles @23″
3 Dunne,Conor AquaBlue Sport @52″
4 Roche,Nicolas BMC Racing @58″
5 McKenna,Sean AnPost Chain Reaction
6 O’Loughlin,Michael Team Wiggins @01’04”
7 Potts,Marc Neon Velo @01’10”
8 Watson,Lindsay PowerhouseSport @01’14”
9 Fyffe,Angus Omagh Wheelers CC @01’18”
10 Reilly,Ryan Amicale Cycliste Biso

Thanks to the team @Belgium Project for the images

Previous Models

2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018
| 2019